Warning: If you are considering a divorce or separation in California, you will want to read our blog: What to Expect in Your Divorce or Custody case. For the latest updates and information please subscribe to the YouTube Channel: California Family Court News.
15 Things to Know Before You Go To Family Court: 1. Divorce Attorney Retainers Cost $5-50,0o0. Total cost of a middle class divorce in Silicon Valley can exceed $1 million. 2. Community Property Rights are a Myth. 3. You will lose custody of your children and cause them permeant harm if you are in family court longer than one year. 4. Divorce lawyers have more conflicts and mental health problems than they will ever disclose to you. 5. Judges DO NOT follow the Law. 6. If you do not get a transcript from a court reporter in a hearing in your case, you will never win an appeal.. 7. Family Courts are the largest profit center in a county. Lawyers, CPAs, custody experts and vocational examiners will make hundreds of thousands of dollars and courts will order you to pay their fees. 8. If you had no criminal record before your divorce, you will likely get one for domestic violence if owned a house or a business. 9. If you never married the father or mother of your child, your case is secreted from the public court files. If you married the mother or father of your child, your case is put in the public court file. 10. Private judging is not private and will cost you millions of dollars over 5-10 years before you can get rid of one. 11 Bailiffs spy on court proceedings and gossip. 12. Your ex-spouses' divorce lawyers is more likely than not having lunch, dinner, drinks or sex with the judge in your case, and there is NOTHING you can do about it. 13. If you can't afford a lawyer, and your former spouse can, you will lose everything. 14. Courts sell off houses to pay lawyers in the modern divorce case. 15. Family Court Judges are the most corrupt judges in California's legal system, and it is widely known what they are doing.
See more details on our blog: What to Expect in Your Divorce or Custody Case.
LEGAL ADVICE: We do not, and cannot give legal advice. In California, if someone gives legal advice without a license, that's called the unauthorized practice of law (UPL). UPL is prohibited by Business and Professions Code § 6126. UPL is a misdemeanor crime. Legal advice refers to written or oral counsel about a legal matter that would affect the rights and responsibilities of the person receiving the advice. In California, only attorneys can give legal advice (B&P § 6125). Like a county law library, we occasionally guide readers to appropriate legal materials, or groups with similar interests and needs, or we may point individuals to members of the media. Content on this site is intended to assist and connect members and the media and to provide information to assist members and media in conducting their own legal research and investigations related to CPS, Family Court, divorce , custody and probate issues.
Content on this website comes from interviews, whistleblowers and court watchers in family courts across California. We are working on bringing on PA, Texas, CT and other states. Until coverage in other states is in place, please make comments and connect on social media.